*Spoilers*

This spoiler is rated O for Offensive.

I tried. I swear I did. In fact, I read it twice, back-to-back, in hopes of loving this book as much as everyone else does. But I don’t, in fact, love this book as much as anyone else does. Doesn’t mean I didn’t like it. It was nice. I just didn’t love it.

I remember my friend being totally excited about this book, so much that she changed her Whatsapp status to ‘TFIOS<3’. So I thought to myself, “Hmm, I should sure as hell read this book.” But the only thing I concluded was this book is a load of pretentious crap.

Augustus Waters And Hazel Grace Lancaster are names I expect a fifty-year old to have. And the fact that they speak like fifty-year olds made it unbearable. I am a teenager. I live around teenagers and my friends are teenagers.

‘”I fear oblivion,” he said without a moment’s pause. “I fear it like the proverbial blind man who’s afraid of the dark.”‘

'
What the hell? What kind of seventeen year old talks like that?
I love cheesy, romantic, swoon-worthy lines just as much as the next girl does (Tfios reference, yeah? Yeah? No? Okay, sorry.) But it’s the fact that this book is called out for it’s realism is what makes me angry.

‘ “I enjoy looking at beautiful people, and I decided a while ago not to deny myself the simpler pleasures of existence.”‘

Does this sound creepy? Hell yeah, but it’s okay Augustus. You’re hot.

“Augustus Waters died eight days after his pre-funeral, at Memorial, in the ICU, when the cancer, which was made of him, finally stopped his heart, which was also made of him.”

Can we please talk about the fact that she refers to Augustus’ death like it happens every other day? I mean, I get it. I get the fact that death is super casual to you, but really?

Do you really mean to tell me that a boy who is a) So, so hot and b) Talks pretentiously and uses lines cheesier than an American cheeseburger is a virgin? To that I’d say Ha! And no, I do not believe you.

Don’t even get me started on that letter Augustus sent to Van Houten, his soliloquy, his dramatic confession of the obvious love he had for Hazel in Amsterdam, Hazels’s eulogy(though that I can forgive. I mean, the man was dying.) and Augustus’ other letter to van Houten.

Chee-ee-sy.

Yes, yes. Totally beautiful.
But not realistic.

download (3)
I’m not even mentioning their deranged conversations which were equally pretentious. Like the other dimension they created with the ‘Okay, Okay.’, the swing set, the phone calls, and like the other million things.

Oh and also, Augustus and Hazel Grace and Isaac egged a girl’s house and got away with it.

But I did like the whole idea behind the book- the fact that she wanted to know that her parents would move on after her death. I liked that. A+ for that.

On closing note, I wouldn’t say I hated this book. It was nice, the idea behind it was nice and John Green is one of my absolute favourite author. But it definitely doesn’t deserve the huge hype it gets. I know people who would absolutely kill for his book, but to be honest, I think Looking For Alaska was much better than The Fault in Our Stars.

Visit John, he’s a great person- http://johngreenbooks.com/

Read the book for yourself- http://www.amazon.in/Fault-our-Stars-John-Green/dp/0141345659/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1454482138&sr=1-1&keywords=the+fault+in+our+stars

