*Spoilers*
Hello, everyone! Today I’m going to be reviewing Scarlet by Marissa Meyer.

download (13)

To be quite, quite frank, I didn’t enjoy Scarlet as much as I did Cinder. Don’t get me wrong, it was a fun read- but not enough to not let me put my book down.
Scarlet follows the story of a girl named Scarlet whose grandmother goes missing. She looks for her grandmother just when Cinder and Thorne(swooooon) are looking for her as well. It’s a re-telling of the Little Red Hiding Hood.

download (11)
Let’s talk of the character first, shall we?
Scarlet is a reckless, brave and strong character right from the moment we meet her- she isn’t afraid to stand up for what she believes in. Which is kind of why I couldn’t get into her character. She is smart, brave and confident, all the things I am NOT. So I couldn’t really get to know her character as much as I’d like to, even though I did enjoy it immensely.
Then we come to the character of Wolf who I did not like either. I mean, he’s cool and all but I don’t trust him to be entirely safe. Like, he’s been genetically altered to obey with mind control. I mean, sure, Scarlet is safe from Wolf but what about everyone else?
I also didn’t particularly enjoy Scarlet/Wolf drama. It was all so instant- even Scarlet confesses to that. And I for one, do not enjoy insta romances.

download (14)
Let’s talk about Thorne and Cinder for a minute here. I LOVE THEM TOGETHER. I see a little Juliette/Kenji forming, and I love, love, LOVE that. And I was so glad to see that Iko was back! I really hoped she would be back and I loved the idea of her being the control system.

download (16)
I KNEW IT. I knew keeping Peony’s chip would be trouble. Like dude, Cinder, OBVIOUSLY you can be tracked using the chip, like come on. You’re pretty dumb for a princess on the run.

download (17)
As usual, Kai was an absolute cutie, but I see myself inclining towards Thorne more! I know! Traitor me! But I do get an Adrian Ivashkov vibe from him that even you cannot deny!
I was really sad when Scarlet’s grandmother died. I was really hoping that Cinder would get a mother figure to guide her, but I guess you don’t always get what you want.
And moving on to LEVANA. Didn’t think you could possibly hate her more? Oh look, there goes her army of blood-thirsty, wolf-mutated soldiers to kill every living person on earth.
Hate her, I do absolutely.

download (18)
I did enjoy reading it, but not as much as Cinder. Let’s hope Cress is better than Scarlet, shall we? >.<

Visit Marissa- http://www.marissameyer.com/

Buy Scarlet- http://www.amazon.in/Lunar-Chronicles-Scarlet-Marissa-Meyer/dp/0141340231/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1454502394&sr=1-1&keywords=scarlet

Check out my Cinder book review: https://wordpress.com/post/keepareadin.wordpress.com/115

 

