*Spoilers*

Hello, everyone! Today I’m going to be reviewing An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir.

ss

Have you ever read that one book which takes you through emotion after emotion until you’re left raw and exposed and still stirring with love for that masterpiece? This is exactly how I felt when I read this piece of art. I was angry, love-stricken, shocked, surprised, more angry and confused and and and

SO MUCH MORE.

download.png

The book got me hooked right from the first page and I couldn’t put it down. Literally. I started the book in the evening and read till 5 in the morning to complete this book.

So Good.

The book is from the point of view of two- Elias and Laia. It’s a futuristic world where the Martials rule over the Tribals, the Marrins and the Scholars. The Scholars are the most oppressed of the lot and are often enslaved by the Martials. Laia is an orphan Scholar who lives with her grandparents and her brother Darin, when one day the Masks- the special soldiers of the Empire- come for Darin and Laia pledges to get him back. Elias is a Mask, and one of the four Aspirants- the ones competing in the Trials for the throne.

IF THIS DOESN’T ENTHRAL YOU, THEN YOU ARE WRONG BECAUSE IT DOES SHUT UP.

It’s been a while since I’ve read a book this intense. Not one moment was boring. Laia isn’t a brave, strong, confident heroine- she’s scared, nervous, unsure and REAL. And instead of this all, she still does all she can to protect her brother. I loved it.

I did not and still don’t trust the Resistance even a single bit.

Also, the love triangle, (or square?) BLEW MY MIND. I cannot express how much I hate poorly written love triangles with a dead end or a cliché setting (hot boy1 or hot boy2? or misunderstood bad guy or ne’er to bad good guy?) and this love square was perfection. I’m torn between Keenan and Elias and it has never happened before. I usually have a staunch stance throughout the book, and if not throughout, I at least have a clear idea by the end of this book. But I absolutely loved Keenan and I loved Elias. It’s a 49%Keenan- 51%Elias situation right now. And Elias has to choose between Laia and Helene as well and I love both of the characters but I’m leaning towards Laia mainly because I’m not a fan of the mask. (It’s creepy and is a sign of the Empire owning you, to be honest. I loved the fact that Elias’ hadn’t melded with him.)

download (23)

 

Okay, the Augurs are creepy. They kind of give me the Lord Varys+Pyat Pree(That guy from the house of the undying). I don’t know if I trust them? Because I like Cain but like, I still don’t trust him. And that female Augur- I didn’t know what was up with that either.

Now, let’s get down to business. Kerius Veturias, a.k.a, Commandant, is a bitch. There, I said it. She’s a perfect antagonist and she’s not the oh-i’m-so-misunderstood-girl, but she’s downright hateful. Like, I get the fact that her father liked boys better but what the hell? She’s still a bitch and I want her dead no question whatsoever.

At the kind, we kind of see her having a heart-to-heart with Elias, and I kind of want and not want her to care for Elias.(ya feel me?) But still, I want her dead.

download (22)

Speaking of family, I like Grandfather. We do see him as strict and pompous, but he does care for Elias and I like that. I like that he has someone and I like that that someone hates his mother for him.

And I really, really, reeeaaallly want to know who his father is!

Okay so, The Trials. Man, those really kept me on edge. Actually, the whole book did. And Blackcliff is so damn cruel! What the hell? You’re sending young children in the desert, stranded, for four freaking years? EVEN WHEN THEY DON’T WANT TO BE MASKS? And god damn, that third trial. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve read me some ASOIAF. But I still wasn’t ready for this! They just can’t… they cannot… but Zach was… and Tristas was… and Demetrius…

download (24).jpg

 

And I am NOT comfortable with Helene’s living metal shirt either.

download (25)

 

That end scene wherein Elias was nearly beheaded, I was literally clutching the book with my dear life. And I get why Helene did swing the axe or whatever- she staunchly believed in the Augurs- but I still don’t wholly trust her. Right from when she was about to rat out Laia, I didn’t trust her and I feel she’s gonnna fuck it up for Elias and Laia somewhere near the future either because of her stupid honor, her jealously, or just plain bad luck.

I knew that Laia would get Elias out. Like, obviously fam she ain’t leavin her homie like that. But I’m really curious as to how they’re going to get Darin out? He’s stripped of his title but then they do have the Augurs and

JUST GIVE ME THE NEXT BOOK RIGHT NOW PLEASE OKAY THANKS BYE.

download (15)

This book was just a piece of really, really good cake that you never want to be over with. I read and read and read and I still wanted to read more despite my bloodshot eyes and groggy voice.

Do yourselves a favour and read this book.

Visit Sabaa- https://sabaatahir.com/

Buy An Ember in the Ashes- http://www.amazon.in/gp/product/0008154473/ref=s9_simh_gw_p14_d0_i1?pf_rd_m=A1VBAL9TL5WCBF&pf_rd_s=desktop-0&pf_rd_r=1MB77MTQ0G3EQFNYJJ54&pf_rd_t=36701&pf_rd_p=798098667&pf_rd_i=desktop

 

