*Spoilers*

“I let him know a hurt had been mended in a way that he couldn’t have known, and for that alone there would always be a piece of me indebted to him.”

Hey, everyone! Today, I’m going to be reviewing Me Before You by Jojo Moyes.

download

Okay, guys. Before I say anything- I saw the trailer before reading the book. Yup. I did one of those things. But luckily, it turned out great for me, as I wasn’t really about to read this book any time soon. It was just one of those books that I added to my TBR list on goodreads, and it just sat there for about a year.

And then, I saw the movie. And my god, was I blown away.

download (8)

I love Emilia Clarke and I love Sam Claflin and both of them in one movie was just too good. But as soon as I finished watching the trailer, I was in desperate need and want RIGHT THEN.

Thank god for books.

I got it on Kindle and started reading it, but it starts in a third person setting where the author describes Will’s accident. And I am not a third-person person. So I left the book for a while. And then, I saw the trailer again.

And then, I picked it up again.

And I couldn’t put it down.

This book is a masterpiece, a jewel and a beauty. WHY DIDN’T THIS BOOK GET MORE HYPE BEFORE? The fault in our stars got more hype than this book, and that was a piece of shit. This book came out in 20-freaking-12 and the movie is being made NOW. Infuriating.

“I kissed him, trying to bring him back. I kissed him and let my lips rest against his so that our breath mingled and the tears from my eyes became salt on his skin, and I told myself that, somewhere, tiny particles of him would become tiny particles of me, ingested, swallowed, alive, perpetual. I wanted to press every bit of me against him. I wanted to will something into him. I wanted to give him every bit of life I felt and force him to live.”

download

The book follows Louisa Clark(Emilia Clarke plays her in the movie. Coincidence? I think not.), a young girl who loves her job as a waitress. Alas, her cafe is shut down and she starts to look for a job. She is the only provider of her five people family- six including her- when her father gets fired and her sister decides to go back to school. Louisa is a normal girl, like you or me. She is in a committed relationship of six years with a boring arsehole, she likes cheery clothes and she more than doesn’t enjoy the company of her sister. But her life changed when she gets employed as a carer for Will Traynor, a quadriplegic. Will was everything ideal- he was(is) charming, had a girlfriend, was filthy rich and lived recklessly- before he was taken down in a motor accident. He is absolutely set to end it while Louisa is dead set to make him want to live.

“You can only actually help someone who wants to be helped.”

I really don’t know what to say, you guys. I cried, laughed, cried, cried, bawled and then slumped in a corner with a dead soul. I need to make this clear, I hardly ever cry. Rare book are those, that make me cry. Don’t get me wrong, I feel the ache- it’s like someone punched me in the gut multiple times, but I hardly cry. I guess my tear-ducts are not as intact. But my god, did I bawl during this book.

Since I’d seen the trailer before actually reading the book, I couldn’t imagine Louisa and Will as anyone other than Emilia and Sam, but oh well.

download (10)

Everything in this book, every single thing, is absolutely amazing. I couldn’t put it down, I finished this book in day. I could hardly breathe through pages, every turn was filled with anticipation.

Will wants Louisa to try new things, to LIVE while she can. God knows, she must. And  he teaches her, so does she. They educate each other, give each other a purpose.

They make each other’s lives worth living.

download (5)

I love, love, LOVE the bumblebee tights and the tattoo.

I couldn’t fully hate Patrick. Till the very end, that is.

download (18)

And Treena too. But that’s probably because I am that younger sister in the household that gets away with everything while my sister gets lectured.

The end made me cry like a little baby. I get it, I get why he did it. I didn’t like the end, but it was perfectly real and understandable. It was genuine. I would do it, you would do it. But it didn’t mean I had to like it. But Will knew what was best for him, right from the start. He knew him. He hadn’t had options in a while and now he had and I was glad, really, that he chose what was best for him. I wanted to stop reading, but I couldn’t. I wanted time to still so I could just stay in that moment with Will and Louisa and keep my heart from shattering, because we all knew what was coming. It was the one moment when I actually wanted a cliché ending for the characters. I wanted them to live happily ever after. I don’t know, some miracle recovery? I wouldn’t mind. (Time to go read fanfiction.)

download (9)

This book was definitely the best one in realistic fiction I’ve read in a while. It helped me get a much clearer and better insight to what it’s like to watch someone you love perish, to make sacrifices for the ones you love, even if it hurts you. To live life to the fullest, and to not take this life for granted.

“Sometimes , Clark, you are pretty much the only thing that makes me want to get up in the morning.” <—— THIS!!!!!! I can’t even.

Patrick stood no chance, obviously.

Please, please, please, do go read this book. Do me, yourselves and everyone a favour and pick this book up. It needs to be appreciated and praised like the gem it is.

Visit Jojo- www.jojomoyes.com

Buy Me Before You- Me Before You

P.S- I don’t think I’ll be picking up the next book, you guys. This book was too much for me and I don’t think I’ll be able to handle it if the sequel isn’t better than the book. Which it won’t be- we all know that.

P.P.S- This was much, much better than the fault in our stars. (Not letting it go. Never letting it go.)

“You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.”

To Life. ♥

