*Thank you NetGalley for providing me with a free soft copy in exchange for an honest review*

Hi there! Today, I’m going to be reviewing the Steel and Stone Series Bundle(Book 1-3) by Annette Marie.

Book 1: Chase the Dark
Book 2: Bind the Soul
Book 3: Yield the Night

dddd

*Spoiler free*

These books were absolutely captivating. I cannot start to tell the sleepless nights full of anticipation. I needed, needed, NEEDED to know what was going to happen and I couldn’t wait to read more.

These books were action packed with just the right amount of swoon. I fell in love with the characters(though obviously, my infamous habit of being annoyed with the protagonist continues) and the world and with Annette Marie’s writing. She won me over, fully and whole heartedly.

The books follow a girl named Piperel, Piper for short, who is a half human, half daemon, ironically called haemons(laughed at that part). Daemons are demons, it’s just a fancier word. The world is divided into three- Overworld, Underworld and Earth. After the third World War, the daemons from the Overworld and Underworld decided to intervene before humanity was plunged into darkness and came down upon the Earth where they bred with humans and thus- haemons. Piper’s father is a Consul. They’re responsible for maintaining peace between the humans and daemons. Piper’s mother left when she was young, and her father and uncle, both Consuls, are her only family. She is an apprentice Consul, and they all manage a Consulate, sort of visiting home for daemons. But things go haywire when Piper’s father gives her the Sahar, a rare daemon lodestone which is dangerously strong. And she must do all she can to protect those she loves.
It’s all explained much more eloquently and efficiently in books, thus referring to my previous statement- I was really impressed by Annette Marie’s work.

If you haven’t already picked this up, you REALLY REALLY should.

Buy Steel and Stone Bundle
(This is only available for Kindle)

Buy Chase the Dark
Buy Bind the Soul
Buy Yield the Night

Visit Annette

Spoiler Time!
(I’m really sorry, by the way. My review is all over the place- I’m overcome with so many emotions. Proceed with caution.)

The start was a teeny bit slow- I’m really not a sucker for starting off a book with a fight scene, but I did get sucked in. All the characters were DAMN good. And I will have to admit, I was team Lyre in the beginning (I was tired of the dark, mysterious boy trope) BUT BOY, WAS I WRONG. Ash is the most fantastic piece of yummy ever, and that’s with him barely flirting. He’s strong, brave, powerful, freaking LAST of his bloodline, so fierce and perfect. Lyre is his own special wonderful, and I absolutely loved it.

I’m Team Ash, by the way.

Hit List:

Samuel (My poor Ash ;_;)
Mysis
Freaking Mona.

And surprisingly enough, not Seiya. I kind of understand where she’s coming from and it’s totally understandable. I would do the exact same thing if I was her, even if I didn’t like it. Piper was putting Ash in danger, and I know Ash didn’t mind but I still couldn’t help but want to punch Piper even though it really wasn’t her fault.

And her mom! I cannot believe she would do that to her own daughter. What the hell, Mona?

Speaking of Mona and magic-seal breaking, freaking ryujin? FOR REAL?

AND VEJOVIS!

What the hell? I never saw that coming and it hit me harder than it should have. I figured the ryujin was helping her because she was the only one who can use the Sahar or something, I don’t know. But I didn’t see THAT coming.

download (11)

The same reaction goes for Piper talking to Natania memory-dream way. What the hell was that about?

At least Piper’s strong enough to SAVE HER OWN ASS now.

And kill Sameul.

Because my heart shattered with the way Samuel tortured Ash! I was so, so angry. I was literally Piper in the super saiyan mode when he was torturing Ash because of PIPER.

Not her fault, but still.

My heart will sing with pure joy if she does(kill him). Which I’m guessing she will, since she’s our bad ass protagonist. And Mysis too, though not that much.

I have a feeling that Mysis and Sameul will get together, kind of like Nyrataroth and Maahes. That would be pretty ironic.

I kind of have a hard time imagining Piper as a ryujin, to be honest. I can easily visualize Ash, or Lyre, or Seiya, or pretty much anyone, except Piper. I don’t know, it’s just kind of unclear in my head. I kind of imagine the ryujin to look like kappas.

images.jpg

I mean, a little less obviously. But something along these lines. (That picture is vivid, I really don’t imagine Piper eating a human hand and having a shell.)

That ending left me in craving for more. DEFINITELY picking up Reap the Shadows.

What did you guys think of the book?

 

 

