Hello, everyone! Today, I’m going to be reviewing The Crown by Kiera Cass, the fifth and the last book in the Selection Series.

sdkdjs

I have been a HUGE fan of the Selection series right from the very beginning. I was beyond myself when I found out that there was another book after The One. However, the Heir didn’t enthral me as much. The thing about Kiera Cass’s writing style is that it’s so fun and easy to read, that it’s like sliding over water- you’re done with the book within hours and left craving for more. When I was reading the Selection- no matter how much I hated America- I could relate, feel and experience WITH her. With Eadlyn, I felt extremely detached and not exactly there in the book. But I still stayed true and loyal, and waited eagerly for the fifth book to come out.

And I was so disappointed.

You know how you procrastinate till 4am in the morning and then get down to write that essay you have to submit at 8am the next day? This is exactly what this book was like- rushed and in a hurry to finish. It was as though Cass wanted to just get over with this series- it was so rushed and hastily written. Eadlyn falls in love, thinks against it, chooses someone else, then thinks against it, then chooses someone else again, but then yet again thinks against it and finally marries the one she wanted to. As bizarre as my last sentence was, all of that happens in just four to five chapters! Like seriously? Rushed love is the worst, and seeing how famous America and Maxon’s slow built love was, Cass should’ve definitely taken some hints. Speaking of falling in love, Erik? Really? I had voted in multiple and countless polls and seen stats, all of which leaned towards Kile, and I was a bit disappointed when Cass went against the readers’ wishes and chose Erik. But Erik would have been fine, if Kiera hadn’t rushed their love to a point it looked like she was forcing their love story down our throats with a shovel. The book was too much of Eadlyn, too much of her sudden character change, too much, too much. EADLYN, and so little of the Selection. I understand why she did it, it was to give us a little more insight to the life of the Selector. But other than Kile and Erik and a little bit of Henry, I seriously don’t think that she made any of us as attached to the other Selected as she made Eadlyn. Wasn’t the whole point of first-person narrative was that we could understand what the protagonist was going through? Eadlyn started to care about the Selected in no obvious way, changed behaviours, attitudes and personality like a freaking chameleon and had no outstanding or respectable abilities that I could comprehend. At least while reading from America’s point of view- as much as I’ve hated her in the past- I knew she cared, I knew she was brave and I knew she stood up for what she believed was right, no matter WHAT (Sometimes a bit too stupidly, if you ask me). But all the qualities that the boys mentioned about Eadlyn, I can’t say I saw those flourishing very much. Perhaps once or twice, when Cass remembered we were there reading alongside, and that we didn’t have as much insight as she did in her mind about Eadlyn, and she would remember to throw us a few sentences to strengthen her so called ‘qualities’. Eadlyn seemed very friendly this book, even with her family, whilst earlier she was an agonizing bitch who hates everything and everyone.

Not to mention the fact that she told two of the Selected she was about to marry them and then left them both for someone else.

I felt bad for Henri. He left with nothing, even less that what he came with- he left with a broken heart and no translator.

There were a few things I liked in this book:

•Ean and Hale’s love, that caught me completely off guard, made me go What? about six times and then left me smiling stupidly.

•A little bit of Eadlyn’s romance- mostly with Erik and Kile. Those were really cute.

•Cute little Maxon-America love scenes. I liked those VERY MUCH.

•Maxon saving Brice! That was just the cutest, though I would like to ponder over that for a bit.

So, Maxon had a step-sister. I call it forced, out of nowhere, made just for the heck of it bullshit. I loved it, loved that Maxon was so nice, so amazing, so caring, just everything I ever thought he was. But I’ve read the novella The Queen, and if you have too, you’d know that Clarkson loved his wife and he would never, ever cheat on her. Not after how much she loved him, and what he had seen his father do to his mother. Amberly’s presence was calm and comforting, and even in The Selection, The Elite and The One, we saw how much King Clarkson loved Amberly. How could he do that? It looked like a tale spun just for the shock factor and I refuse to believe it.

Brice is cool though. And Maxon is bae.

All in all, I would give this book a 2.5 star rating. This was so disappointing. I really can’t believe Kiera Cass, who I have admired for a long time, would just do an OK work on something so many have loved for so long. But there are books to read, and this not-so-great book has definitely helped me get over ACOMAF a little, though not a lot. If this book had been good, I would have been a swirling container of FEELS and would have certainly burst into an emotional oblivion not long after.

If you have just finished The One and not yet started with The Heir, or know anyone else who has done so, I advice, and so should you, to not read the Heir. Just stay in your little bubble of happiness and will yourself to believe that there are no more books. It will lead to less pain and save you the sadness of knowing that Kiera Cass sunk this cruise at the very end.

Still gonna read her books though, but perhaps not with THAT much anticipation.

Buy The Crown HERE.

Visit Kiera Cass.

 

 

