Hello, everyone! Today, I’m going to be reviewing  Throne Of Glass by Sarah J. Maas!

download (14).jpg

So, I’m finally all caught up! Thank god!

Summary:
After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her … but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead … quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

My Take: 

Warning: Spoilers ahead.

It took me nearly half a month to read this series, which isn’t exactly the best thing. The third book was what really slowed me down, and even though it was a good book, it wasn’t very well paced or interesting till like the 3/4th part. But the fourth book totally made up for that! The fourth book was the best, in my opinion.

I liked Celaena’s character very much so. I have an infamous history of protagonist hating, but Aelin is like the perfect blend of Katniss and Bad-assery, that automatically makes her a favoured protagonist. She’s so freaking amazing and strong, that it’s overwhelming (in a good way) and she’s so fucking intelligent, that just reading about her figuring her way out of the problem gets my adrenaline high. I’m pretty sure everyone figured out that she was the Terassen heir, so that wasn’t a big surprise, though when she used her powers it was so awesome, I could hardly contain it. That battle scene in Heir Of Fire was my second favourite battle/action scene in the series; Aedion’s escape plan was #1. That part was so well written, it was like a movie being carried out in my mind. The best thing about all of Celaena’s plans are that WE KNOW NOTHING OF IT. So we don’t know if she’s doing it correctly, or if the plan is going awry. So all we can do is just sit back with our butts clenched, HOPING that all’s well.

AND IT’S FREAKING AWESOME.

There are many love interests in this book, and by many I mean 3. Now, obviously Chaol is a little piece of shit. I mean, I’m sorry if you’re team Chaol (but why tho fam), but that guy got on my nerves throughout the fourth book, even when he apologized to Celaena. The only reason I might like him even the teensiest bit it because he was the only one not wanting to kill Dorian. (And then once he realized Dorian couldn’t be salvaged back, he tries to kill him. AND GOES IN THE WRONG DIRECTION?)

download (11)

So yeah, not exactly my favourite character.

Now, the whole Rowan/Celaena ship- not a fan of that, tbh. Rowan was a good character before he developed feelings for her, and even then he was fine, before Celaena ‘accepted him’ or whatever. But I have no patience for their romance, especially his weird territorial bullshit. It gets on my nerves, specially since Celaena kind of put him on a pedestal, and reminds me so much of Dimitri from VA who isn’t exactly my favourite character. (Correction- I hate him and he’s awful.) I was also pretty pissed that Celaena wasn’t very sympathetic towards Aedion, who is my absolute favourite character, after telling him about the blood oath. (I know he doesn’t need coddling, but come on.) And then Rowan threatens him and Celaena acts like one of those teenage-y girls who is all over her boyfriend all the time.

I do, however, ship CelaenaxDorian. I know, I know, it’s a sunken ship, but I don’t care. Dorian is my second favourite guy (after Aedion), and I LOVE HIM VERY MUCH. When Sorscha was introduced, I was glad, but then she got too boring and I was like “meh.” You know, that is before she got her head chopped off. Those chapters where he described his struggle with the collar and the Valg demon was just heartbreaking and sad to read, but finally Manon helped him out of it and I was all “YAAS.”

Speaking of Manon, I went from hating her chapters in Heir Of Fire to loving her chapters in Queen Of Shadows. Her character development is amazing, which only goes far to prove that if you give a bitch a puppy, she won’t be a bitch anymore. I’m really curious to see what she and the Thirteen do now that the King is dead and we know that Duke Perrington is actually the Demon King (I was so shocked I gasped three times.)

Also, I totally ship ElidexManon.

And AedionxLyssandra.

And Arobynn was a little bitch, thank god he’s dead. I haven’t read Assassin’s Blade, so I didn’t know that it was Arobynn who had killed Sam or even gotten her shipped to Endovier. And that ring slipping scene really freaked me out. BUT THEN THERE WE GO AGAIN WITH THE WRONG-PLAN-ACTUALLY-RIGHT-PLAN. So it’s all good. And god bless Lyssandra for killing Arobynn like that. And god bless Celaena for that last will-changing thing.

Also, I think Maeve’s going to ally herself with the Valg King, then trick the Valg King, and finally we’re going to have Maeve as the main villian. Because I think that could happen. Maybe.

AND I CANNOT WAIT FOR THE EMPIRE OF STORMS! It comes out this September!

tumblr_inline_o5ljmzchBW1qfh6ok_500

Buy The Throne Of Glass HERE.
Visit Sarah J. Maas HERE.

 

