Hello, everyone! Today, I’m going to be reviewing The Wrath And The Dawn by Renée Ahdieh!

jjlj.jpg

Rating- 3.5/5

Not the best cover, not the best-est book either.

I am seriously conflicted over this book.

*Spoiler Alert*

The Cons: 

Don’t get me wrong, I really enjoyed reading this book. That love story was amazing, and I loved to read Shahrzad’s chapters, but other than that? Not really.

I wasn’t interested in the story line, because the story line wasn’t MADE interesting. Yes, Shazi’s chapters were the majority in the book, but I felt so conflicted because I wanted to enjoy the book as a whole, and all the chapters too- despite who’s POV it was. But I felt myself lacking and even dreading chapters that weren’t Shahrzad’s or Khalid’s. Because they were SO BORING. Not gonna lie, I legit skimmed through those. And that’s saying something, specially because I love to read war scheming and ugly politics.

Also, the dialogues.

Some of them, especially the epic, love-confessing dialogues were like a treasured piece of beautiful literature. But the other dialogues; the normal, casual conversations, were so lacking on me, it was as though I was reading a translated book. Not saying that translated books are bad, but somehow the translated dialogue always seems lacking to me. Perhaps it’s because the setting wasn’t in a European era? But I have read books not set in the European era, and there dialogues weren’t lost on me the way this book’s was. The dialogues felt detached, somehow.

Oh boy, THAT INSTA-LOVE.
I’m a sucker for love-stories, but dear lord do I despise insta-love (looking at you multiple authors, and you too Kiera Cass). Yes, Khalid and Shazi’s romance was beautiful, but how the fuck did they fall in love so fast? The cute scenes happened after proclaiming their love to each other, so technically, Khalid just looked at her fierce self, fell in love, made her queen and then just randomly kissed her in a dark alley while running away from murdering thugs. Insta love is literally one of my worst book peeves, and I was super disappointed that this book had one.

Pros:

The happenings after the insta-love happened.
Those were my favourite. Dear lord, get me a Khalid and I’m all done for the day. He was so nice, and considerate and the damn joonam made my heart melt like a wax candle. Their relationship was so cute (not forgiving the insta-love, though) and seriously, it probably contributed to me hating Tariq, and not just because his chapters were super annoying and boring.

The plot.
That was a fantastic retelling, to be very honest. The plot was absolutely amazing, and I loved it so, so much. The whole ‘keeping the reader in suspense’ till the very last second was played beautifully in the book and I loved it.

One hundred lives for the one you took. One life to one dawn. Should you fail but a single morn, I shall take from you your dreams. I shall take from you your city.
     And I shall take from you these lives, a thousandfold.

^This gave me the chills, not even kidding. This was beautiful.
Among many others, really. I might have no liked the casual dialogues, but I did enjoy some epic-ly framed sentences. They were absolutely beautiful and I loved them a thousandfold. (I know that sentence made no sense, but I just really wanted to use it whatchu gonna do bout it huuuhhhhh? Sorry.)

Confession: I didn’t actually like Jalal at all in the start AT ALL, because I thought that he would be the other love interest in an inevitable love-triangle. But after I found out about Despina, I really did like him as a side-character. Also, I still don’t trust Despina despite everything.

And I loved the fact that Shazi was such a strong protagonist, and that Khalid respected and trusted her so damn much! Shazi was so fierce, reliable, intelligent, thoughtful and all in all an amazing heroine to have!

I would like to end this by saying that I did like the book, but it wasn’t as good as the ginormous hype that’s circulating around. Sure, it was a good book, but I’ve read better. And I’ve seen nothing but 5-4 stars on Goodreads except a few, and I suppose that it’s just my own opinion, but I would categorise this under the ‘good-but-not-up-to-the-par-yet-still-hyped’ books, right next to The Mortal Instruments. I realise that it was a cliffhanger ending, but I’m not all “shit son I gotta read it right now or imma spontaneously combust” after reading it. I was like, “meh, i’ll pick the next book up when I got the time”, which is ironic because I’m the most useless person I know.

And that’s it for now! I hope I didn’t offend anyone with this review, because I know it’s a well loved duology (?), but oh well. That’s all for this time, for I shall now leave to save common peasants because that’s just what I do when I’m not reading books (lol, yeah right.)

Until next time!

giphy (7)

R.I.P. Poochie.

Edit: I realised that I did not explain the end and to some, it would look like I did not understand it. So Khalid thinks she’s dead and burnt, but she actually isn’t. Still does not want me to pick up the book any faster.

 

 

