Hello, everyone! Today, I’m going to be reviewing The Siren by Kiera Cass!

wkwkkwkw.jpg

Summary: “You must never do anything that might expose our secret. This means that, in general, you cannot form close bonds with humans. You can speak to us, and you can always commune with the Ocean, but you are deadly to humans. You are, essentially, a weapon. A very beautiful weapon. I won’t lie to you, it can be a lonely existence, but once you are done, you get to live. All you have to give, for now, is obedience and time…”

The same speech has been given hundreds of times to hundreds of beautiful girls who enter the sisterhood of sirens. Kahlen has lived by these rules for years now, patiently waiting for the life she can call her own. But when Akinli, a human, enters her world, she can’t bring herself to live by the rules anymore. Suddenly the life she’s been waiting for doesn’t seem nearly as important as the one she’s living now.

Rating- 2/5 stars

*Spoiler Alert*

I read The Selection, The Elite and The One and I loved it. I read The Heir and felt there was hope. I read The Crown and angry sobbed my way into oblivion.

I read The Siren in hopes of redeeming Kiera Cass in my eyes.

Was it better than The Crown?

I think so.

Did it work?

Lol, nah.

want that Selection goodness, Kiera! How hard is it for you understand that?! Insta-love, insta-love, insta-love. I LOATHE INSTA-LOVE.
Some may argue that Maxon and America had the insta love moment also, mainly from Maxon’s POV (If you’ve read The Prince, you’ll know that he immediately fell in love with her.) But it was them falling in love that I fell in love with- the cute dates, the perky quips, all that pile of shit that their relationship had been through (yes, I mean Aspen) and they finished so strong! It was magical, and swoon- worthy and absolutely amazing.

The problem with Kiera’s books is that it can only ever hold one- swoon and romance, or a good-ish plot. And it’s no secret that she does the former much better, and when she focuses more on the latter, the book just becomes a hot mess. While I was reading The Siren, I was very much impressed with the plot, since I did not know even a lick about sirens and their mythology. The plot had a potential that, if picked up by an author like Erika Johansen, would have been nice.

But the Insta Love, oh, the Insta Love! It was 9000% Insta Love. One look and bam! They were in love, and Kahlen was already having serious Withdrawal Symptoms. Like what the fuck? I understand that you’ve been alive for 80 years, but NO ONE just falls in love with a single look, okay?

Let’s start the petition- #SayNoToInstaLove

I realised that I’ve done this review bottoms up. So, let’s get into the Character Review:

Kahlen (took me six shameful tries to nail the pronunciation) is a Siren, serving Her (a.k.a. The Ocean.) She was taken by the ocean during a shipwreck (also caused by the ocean) to serve the ocean for 100 long years after which she may be free to leave. She’s served 80, EIGHTY years of servitude, and just when she’s about to finish the long sentence, oh well, boy trouble. She’s the weakest protagonist EVER, and in this case, America>Kahlen. Kahlen cries ALL THE TIME. There isn’t a time she doesn’t cry. Happy? She’s crying. Frustrated? There she goes. Akinli is dying? Sobfest.

The Ocean decided to forgive her and diminish her remaining 20(+50) years of servitude to show her love?
Take a wild fucking guess.
Kahlen cries more than that annoying child next door, no kidding.

Then we have our (supposed) heartthrob, Akinli. Seriously, that’s his name. Akinli. Now, I’m no one to name-shame, my own last name is a nuisance to pronounce, but Akinli? I looked at Maxon and I was like yeah boy, I looked at Aspen and I was like is that a plant? And then there was Ahren which was Aaron with a weird spelling. But what is Akinli? Dear lord. And the way he was described- no, nope, NADA. Not the most ideal boy, in fact, I wasn’t attracted to him at all, which made me wonder what the sodding hell did Kahlen see in him? He wasn’t remotely funny or sarcastic. He is shown to be kind and helpful, but honestly, that was like six lines after which it all vanished because Akinli makes a cameo in the book for about 6 chapters (phone calls included). Because obviously when you write a forbidden love-story, you don’t put the love interest in the actual book.

Not.

The Ocean was literally my only favourite thing in the whole book, no kidding. Even though the constant Her, She, Me, I, irritated me after a point, the ocean’s character that depicted mother’s love- specifically a side that’s jealous for their children’s love- really captivated me. When we think about Mother’s Love, we think about selflessness, kindness, caring. And the ocean is all these things, albeit a  little jealous, even to a point where Kahlen’s life is threatened. She’s jealous of losing Kahlen’s love to Akinli, but at the end gives Kahlen up, because isn’t that what Mother’s Love really is? Sacrifice and lots and lots of selflessness.

The water bottle in the epilogue? Also my favourite.

The side characters weren’t very memorable to me, except Aisling. Her secret shocked me, in a pleasant way, but made me sad too for obvious reasons. Having to see your own child buried is quite possibly one of the worst things a parents should ever have to face, but Aisling held strong and I admired her character for that.

And, that’s it! I am so disappointed in Keira Cass. It seems to me like The Selection was her only good work (and that too only the first 3 books), and that Kiera is very close to becoming a one-hit wonder. I really hope she gets a book out that’s worth something!

Buy The Siren HERE.
Visit Kiera.

 

